Personal transitions

I’m (still!) a struggling dissertation writer, but a few other things have happened over the past year or so:

  1. I’ve  joined Africa International University (AIU)‘s  Institute for the Study of African Realities (ISAR) as a research fellow.
  2. My wife Christi become a certified life coach (Awaken Coaching).
  3. We’ve become an official missionaries with Pioneers.
  4. We spent three and half months visiting friends and churches in the US and Canada (see #3)–26 states, 2 provinces, and over 50 different beds. This was the longest I’d been in North America in nine years, and it was great to reconnect with so many old friends and make new ones.
  5. A year ago, two of our kids were diagnosed with pretty serious heart murmurs attributed to “pulmonary hypertension”–due to allergies, sinus infections, etc. Both were checked again while we were in North America this summer were given a clean bill of health.  Kiara’s murmur is mostly gone, and while Liam still has a strong murmur, one a leading pediatric cardiologists in Toronto checked everything out, and his heart looks great.  Thank God!
  6. Nairobi Evangelical Graduate School (NEGST) received its university charter and is now considered the core constituent school of Africa International University (AIU).
  7. Four of my close friends received their doctorates.
  8. ALARM published an ethnicity manual we worked on together.
  9. My father suddenly retired from from being a professor at African Bible College Malawi due to a heart condition that requires close monitoring. (I packed up 20 years of their life in one week.) They relocated to Greensboro, N.C.
  10. Our two youngest got their Canadian citizenship.
  11. My mother became an American citizen at this ceremony. We got to be there, where my two little Canadians posed with members of the revolutionary militia (see below).
  12. I turned 40 and struggled emotionally through a year of  questions guys often have at mid-life.
  13. I lost a very close friend to cancer.
  14. I had some pretty significant spiritual turning points–not that anyone other than my wife would notice.
  15. My eleven-year-old daughter would like me to add that her school, Pistis, changed their curriculum, is putting on a new roof so they can have an out-door eating area, and their website is under construction.
  16. much more
All of these have long back stories, most of which we have alluded to in our newsletters. If you’d like to receive the fabulous newsletter that my wife writes, click here to send me an email.
3 thoughts on “Personal transitions

  1. Hi Ben,
    A blog is SO much better than social media…
    Just wondered if you had ever come across Dorothy L. Sayers. Although she remains famous for being a British queen of crime (and her Lord Peter Wimsey books are excellent), a lot of her later work was theological in nature: The Man Born to be King (series of radio plays about the life of Jesus, which I love. I find her approach to Judas very convincing), her verse translation of Dante’s Divine Comedy (was the Penguin classic translation used for years), The Mind of the Maker (an essay) and several religious plays which are no longer available as far as I can tell. You’ll find nothing directly relevant to Africa in there, but plenty of good stuff.
    She also wrote letters to CS Lewis, where she basically tells him to get on with it…
    So glad the kids are OK. Had no idea of the hear murmurs. Ouf!
    All the best,
    Hélène (briefly of St Michael’s days)

  2. Ben says:

    Hi Hélène,

    It’s great to hear from you. I see you have quite a literary blog going yourself..

    I personally haven’t read much Dorthy Sayers. My reading is much more boring. We did, however, get to visit the Wade Center in Wheaton when we were visiting this summer. that features her: http://www.wheaton.edu/Buildings/Wade-Center or http://www2.wheaton.edu/wadecenter/authors/authors.html.

    Ben

Leave a Reply

