my bizarre blog stats; peeling back the curtain for friends

You, my friends (especially my wife and my supervisor) know that I’m not blogging these days; I try to focus on my dissertation– with exception of a helpful link or quote here and a brief reflection there. Since I’m extremely small fry in the blogging world, I don’t get too excited about my stats. I do, however, check occasionally to amuse myself and to see what kinds of things people are reading and linking to. Today, I was struck by the stats for the last three days.

  • Monday: 170
  • Tuesday: 170
  • Wednesday: 170 (exactly; no fudging)
  • Thursday/Today: will surely break the chain (70 more to go as I as I write).
  • Last Thursday: 169
  • Last Friday: 171

In case you are curious, the most popular post almost every single day is a cartoon – “What financial crisis?” rural Africans. (Posted 27 October 2008).

In case you don’t know, I’m also an ugali expert.  Anywhere from 5-10 people every single day find me in their quest for ugali. Along the same lines, I’m apparently a source of information for Buckingham Palace – Buckingham Palace’s new Dinka guard (photo), malaria’s 3 stages, and  Dubai airport–see here and here.

Oh yeah, last month I was apparently one of the 20 hottest blogs in east africa. Timing is everything. According to Afrigator,  I was the #12 most popular blog in Kenya the day she posted–that made me #18 in East Africa. Today, I’m #29 (#351 in Africa).

In case you are curious, all this makes me #143 in the biblioblogging world for September.  (My only top 50 appearance was in February (#49), thanks mostly to my crisis cartoon.) Hope that provides a good boost to everyone’s self-esteem ;-).

8 thoughts on “my bizarre blog stats; peeling back the curtain for friends

  1. Jim says:

    it certainly boosts mine. thanks!

  2. Your rock, Ben!
    Congratulations!
    🙂

  3. Simon says:

    At least your most popular picture is relevant and political. My blog’s biggest hit is people who google image search “Largest Spider” (third place!).

    http://www.sitemeter.com/?a=stats&s=s11simon389&r=11

    Now, to figure out how to turn this into profit? I added a copyright, but in three years, nobody has emailed to purchase its use.

  4. Simon says:

    Actually FIRST for “largest spider ever”

  5. David Ker says:

    Ben, you’ll be glad to know that your stats rival and surpass mine over the same period. I try not to care about visits per day but I do check. 😉

    • Ben says:

      That surprises me; from my perspective, you are in the bigger leagues. I guess we have to keep in mind that you get your hits from creative stuff you’ve actually written. Mine are mostly parasitic.

Leave a Reply

