In Christian Nairobi, church attendance goes down for Easter and Christmas services

This was my 4th Easter in Nairobi, but for some strange reason, it was the first time I noticed how sparsely attended our Easter service was. As I thought about it, I remembered a drop in attendance at the Christmas services as well. In a country that claims to be 80% Christian, this behavior struck me as strange—especially since most of the Christians here that I know take church attendance very seriously.

As I was puzzling over this phenomenon, the pastor told us to turn to our neighbor and say, “Pole sana” (Sorry.) Why? “Because you are the poor sots who got stuck in the urban jungle of Nairobi while all your friends got to go to their rural homes and celebrate with their families!!”

Leave a Reply

