Keep an eye out for this guy at SBL

image

I know it will be hard – like “Where’s Waldo” in the sea of black faces at SBL. His name is Samy Tioye; he’s a PhD candidate in translation, working on the concept of “eating blood” from Leviticus into Lobiri, his mother tongue in Burkina Faso. Most importantly, he’s also one of my best friends. 😉

Samy TioyeIt’s Samy’s first time at SBL, only his second time in the US, and his first time to New England, so I’m sure he would appreciate all the encouragement you can give him. Buy him a coffee; buy him lunch; buy him big books for Ben Byerly like Dunn “From Jerusalem” ;-). Ask him to give you all the dirt on me (a short conversation.) Better yet, ask him about his childhood and lifeguards. If he opens up, you’ll be in for a truly unforgetable, even unbelievible, . . . . personal story.  He can also tell you more details about being locked up in a Kenyan jail, but he’s got lots of other more interesting stories.

5 thoughts on “Keep an eye out for this guy at SBL

  1. I’ll keep my eye open, but only if you tell him to buy my book for you.

    Seriously, I’d love to talk to Samy. I’ve got a soft spot in my heart for juxtaposing OT prohibitions on eating blood with the Lord’s supper.

  2. Ben says:

    Okay, you’re on! You buy him lunch, and he will buy your book for me.

    Samy, did you get that? Daniel Kirk, Unlocking Romans: Resurrection and the Justification of God (Eerdmans 2008). (I’ll reimburse you when you get back.)

    BTW – Samy’s stuff is way over my head. (blended theory and all that.) After he does the Blood Sacrifice in the Mediterranean world conference at BU – right before SBL – all hopes of me comprehending will be totally gon.

  3. Crap. Missed him!

    Ben, I can’t wait until you come to SBL one day so that I can finally meet you face-to-face as well.

  4. Ben says:

    Too bad. Sounds like SBL would be fun, it’s a lot of shekels to make it from here. Someday.

    It would be great to see you in person again too. It’s been a long time since you used to sit behind the desk at the WTS library.

  5. Ah–yes–I had somehow expunged those WTS years from my mind. Apologies! Now that I see your picture again, I remember.

    Mea culpa! Mea culpa!

Leave a Reply

