An African giant passes on – Kwame Bediako

I heard the sad news yesterday morning from one of his former students who now teaches here; liver cancer took him quickly. Bediako was here just last year and had a tremendous impact on all of us.

John Stott Ministries prayer request:

Kwame Bediako’s has passed from his earthly life. Let’s uphold Kwame’s wife Mary and the kids as well as the Akrofi Christaller Memorial Centre for Mission Studies community. What a gift Kwame has been to many of us, personally and professionally.

Christopher J.H. Wright writes – In Memory

. . . Kwame was one of the most remarkable senior African leaders I have ever met. He had a surpassing level of scholarship (two doctorates – one in English and one in French). He had a range of knowledge of the history of the church in Africa (and Europe) that could keep us spell-bound for hours just listening to his stories. And he had a most profound understanding of the relationship between the gospel and African culture. He also had a huge passion to bring African Christians together to affirm their Christian identity in authentic ways that would overcome some of the worst legacies of the colonial era. And yet he wore all this learning with such a light touch. His twinkling eyes and sparkling humour and laughter were a constant tonic. It has been such a joy and privilege to know him for many years. . .

For a brief bio, click here.

Akrofi-Christaller Institute of Theology, Mission and Culture.

His publications include

  • Theology and Identity—The Impact of Culture upon Christian Thought in the Second Century and Modern Africa (Regnum Books, 1992, reprinted 1999).
  • Christianity in Africa—The Renewal of a Non-Western Religion (Edinburgh University Press; Orbis Books, 1995; reprinted 1997)
  • Jesus and the Gospel in Africa, History and Experience (Orbis Books, 2004).
4 thoughts on “An African giant passes on – Kwame Bediako

  1. Samy says:

    Hi Ben,

    Today I got a few moment to browse my favorites and opened your blog to find that Bediako has gone to be with the Lord. Just a couple of days, I was making plan to o and visit him in his centre next month. It saddened my hear. Thanks Ben for posting it on your blog.

    Peace on ALL
    Samy

  2. Ben says:

    I’m glad you made it home safely. It is indeed sad news for all of us.

    Que Dieu te benisse.

  3. Anne says:

    I am very glad to hear such comments about my father Kwame Bediako. He was definetely a brilliant person on the intelectual point of view and has done a great job for Africa.
    However, the story should be a bit rectified and written properly. He was a wonderful person with anybody he met and worked with, I have no doubt about it. Nevertheless, he never considered relevant to take care of me, to hear from me, his first child and only daughter.
    We (my mother and I) always lived backside, on the second plan and were all his life considered as the mistake of the past. He doesn’t have 2 but 3 children. He met my mother much more before his wife.

    Don’t get me wrong, I don’t blame him because I have never been raised with anger (my mother did a wonderful job). I truly loved him and I know he loved me very much. However, I have never been accepted as a member of his family and I feel sadness and disappointment about that because things haven’t been set up before his death. I and any member of the Bediako’s side had never ever been informed about his terrible sickness.
    Now, after all these years and after his death, his wife wants to hear from me, which is very strange and useless because there is nothing more to say.
    On the Christian point of view, I won’t add any comments.

    Anne

  4. Ben says:

    Thank you Anne, for taking the time to write here. I am very sorry to hear about the sadness and disappointment you have had to experience.

Leave a Reply

