Links of the day; Look Right; a new look

For the “Links of the Day,” look right. I’ve finally figured out how to use the share function of Google Reader in connection with this WordPress widget. Yes, I know, I know . . . I am behind the times; I am still figuring things out as I go. Google Reader also has an interesting “Note in Reader function” for articles I come across outside of Reader.

I have to thank Chris Tilling for the idea. It took me a while to figure out how he was mysteriously “referring” people to my site without ever linking to or mentioning this blog. Thanks Chris for showing me it could be done.

5 thoughts on “Links of the day; Look Right; a new look

  1. David Ker says:

    So that’s how that works… You’re ahead of me if that’s any consolation. I will say that I signed up for Mahalo this evening and was feeling just slightly hip. It can link to the Google Reader thing. Do you think I could use that for the around the world in 80 blogs thing? Well, forget it. I’m going to bed.

  2. David Ker says:

    I said above that Mahalo links to GR but I haven’t actually got it to work. It is posting to Facebook and del.icio.us and all of it is quite slow so I probably won’t use it though I’d like a better way to track pages I’m interested in.

  3. […] Byerly posted about a way to post links from Google Reader in his WordPress sidebar. I find all these different […]

  4. Ben says:

    I don’t know much about any of these other sites. Originally, I was simply interested in an RSS reader that could compile all the blogs I like to read (even that concept was new to me a couple of months ago). At that time, I Googled “RSS readers” and found a couple of people that compared different ones side by side. That was the extent of my research.

    More recently, I became interested in sharing some of my daily favorites with the few people that actually visit my blog. Doing a “Links of the Day” post was taking too long.” I noticed that Tilling had one, but figured it wasn’t a function of WordPress (the free version anyway) until I saw it a couple of days ago.

    In Google Reader, ones that I click “share” on wind up in a separate page to which someone could feasible “subscribe” to if they wanted. I simply use the RSS widget in WordPress to link to that feed. I also put the “Note in Reader” button on my Firefox Toolbar which allows me to put any other articles (outside the normal blogs I read in Reader) into my Google Reader “share” folder.

    I have a Facebook page, but it is too slow here, so I don’t visit it very often. I haven’t tried any of the other ones.

    Bottom line is . . . I’m guessing all you would need to do is subscribe the WordPress RSS widget to whatever social bookmarking page you settle on.

    [I’ve posted this same comment on David’s blog too.]

  5. David Ker says:

    And I still… haven’t found… what I’m looking for…

    BTW, if you want to speed up facebook, try http://m.facebook.com

    Just the basics and less junk.

Leave a Reply

